ILCC News

Newsletter of the Illinois Liquor Control Commission

Message from the Executive Director, Lisa Gardner

We at the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC), grieve with the families, friends and neighbors of the victims of the Highland Park 4th of July mass shooting. No words can adequately express our feelings caused by the tragic event.

According to the American Psychiatric Association, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), occurs in individuals who have experienced or witnessed a traumatic event, or have been threatened with a threat of death or a serious injury. Similarly, Secondary Traumatic Stress (STS), can be brought on by the repeated hearing of such events. One of ILCC's core mission is to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public while building a safer, healthier Illinois by encouraging temperance of alcohol, through adequate liquor control and regulation. The overconsumption of alcohol can cause those affected to engage in risky behavior such as drinking and driving, fighting and other alcohol related incidents.

As we face an ever-increasing rise in traumatic events, it is extremely important to eliminate the stigma around mental health and mental health care. If you, or someone you know, is having difficulty coping due to traumatic events, including the Independence Day shooting and the on-going Pandemic, SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) offers a 24 hour-a-day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year way to find a treatment center closest to you. There also is a free and confidential treatment referral hotline 1-800-662-4357.

Stress has many causes, and another cause can be financial. On July 1, 2022, Illinois Governor, JB Pritzker, and the General Assembly's Family Relief Plan, went into effect, providing a much needed \$1.8 billion in tax relief to Illinois families. In addition to providing a tax holiday, which provides various temporary tax cuts and rebates to Illinois consumers and businesses, under the Family Relief Plan, Illinois "1A" retailers are receiving financial relief due to a license fee renewal waiver.

Thanks to the Family Relief Plan, beginning July 1, 2022 until June 30, 2023, Illinois retailers holding a "1A" designated liquor license, which include restaurants, bars and other retail liquor license establishments, will not have to pay the requisite license renewal fee when submitting their license renewal applications. While licensees still need to meet all other license renewal requirements, the license fee waiver will provide \$16.8M in savings to over 23,000 Illinois licensees.

We at the ILCC remain committed to continuing our collaboration with our licensees, industry associations, law enforcement, local liquor commissions and local public health departments as we navigate the industry back to full health. Our goal is to be a resource for the industry. As such, we are available Monday – Friday from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. to answer your inquiries.

Until next time... Be safe. Be well and let's all take care of one another.

Division News

CHEERS FROM PEERS

Monica Pullett.....2

LICENSING

License Fee Waivers3

LEGAL Retailer to Retailer

Retailer to Retailer Transfer FAQs 4

EDUCATION

Infused Product Awareness 6 Social Wellness 6

ENFORCEMENT

BASSET



1

Pullett chosen by fellow ILCC Peers

CHEERS FROM PEERS



We are pleased to announce our second winner of the 2022 Cheers from Peers Award. ILCC created this program to recognize the ILCC employees that go above and beyond. Monica Pullett has been with the state for 12 years. Ms. Pullett's coworkers had a lot of nice things to say about her. One of her coworkers stated, 'She always has a very positive attitude and works with everyone rather easily. She seems to be very knowledgeable in multiple fields and accommodating to everyone in the Springfield office.' We want to congratulate her!

GET TO KNOW ME!

- 1. How long have you been employed with State Government? 12 years
- 2. What is your top career accomplishment? Getting my Master's Degree
- 3. What's your favorite TV show to binge watch? All Rise on OWN
- 4. What are your favorite hobbies? Working out, hiking and photography
- 5. Do you have a bucket list? What's on it? Yes, Experience the Northern Lights in Alaska and Niagara Falls in Canada.
- 6. What is your favorite game to play? Any video game with my son
- 7. What is your favorite way to spend your free time? Work on a DIY project
- 8. What advice would you give to yourself at the beginning of your career? That every person that you meet is a potential door to a new opportunity, personally or professionally.
- 9. What type of music do you like? Christian Gospel
- 10. Who is your favorite artist? Toby Mac
- 11. Do you have any unique family traditions? **My son and I take a monthly cooking class.**
- 12. What's the last movie you watched? Breakthrough
- 13. If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be? Salads
- 14. If you could meet anyone, dead or alive, who would it be? Why? **My grandma**, **I didn't get a chance to see her before she passed away.**
- 15. If you could instantly acquire one talent or ability, what would it be and why? **To time travel, to prevent things from happening.**



ILCC News Article suggestions are welcome!

The ILCC welcomes your input to enhance the ILCC News. If you have a suggestion for an article or topic or have a helpful hint to share with other licensees, please contact the ILCC's Chicago Office.

ILCC News is published by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission for state liquor licensees, local government officials, industry associations, and related government agencies.

Managing Editor:

Nicole Sanders

ILCC Website: www.illinois.gov/ilcc

ILCC Email: ILCC@illinois.gov

Chicago Office

50 West Washington Suite 209 Chicago, IL 60602 Phone: 312.814.2206 Fax: 312.814.2241

Springfield Office

300 West Jefferson Suite 300 Springfield, IL 62702 Phone: 217.782.2136 Fax: 217.524.1911

Published by the Authority of the State of Illinois. 7/22 • 23-0029

License Fee Waivers

Governor Pritzker signed the 2023 budget on April 19, 2022 and the budget included ILCC fee waivers/fee relief for licensed Illinois retailers. Public Act 102-0699 reads as follows – The State Commission shall waive license renewal fees for those retailer's licenses that are designated as "1A" by the State Commission and expire after July 1, 2022 and on or before June 30, 2023.

Q: As a 1A licensee, am I still required to submit a renewal?

A: Yes. The renewal procedure itself will not change. All renewal procedures are the same as they have been in the past EXCEPT, that the payment option has been removed and you will see a message informing you that the renewal fee is being waived for the license period.

Q: I am an Illinois Licensee who holds a license that does not start with 1A (example 1B), will this affect my renewal fee?

A: No. Public Act 102-0699 is only for retailers that are classified as 1A license holders. If you don't have a 1A classified license, the fee waiver will not apply.

*Licensee's will see the following message

Q: As a 1A licensee, will Public Act 102-0699 apply if I am behind on my fees or renewals?

A: No. The fee waiver only applies to State of Illinois license renewals that expire after July 1, 2022 and on or before June 30, 2023. If you are behind on renewals that have an expiration date on or before 06/30/2022 those license fees are still due.

Q: As a 1A licensee, if I want to make my renewal fee payment regardless of Public Act 102-0699, will I be able to do so online?

A: No. The option to make a renewal payment for 1A licensee's is not available online.

Q: If a license hold (e.g. ILCC Legal Division, Department of Revenue Tax) has been placed on my account, will these holds need to be removed prior to license renewal?

A: Yes

Liquor license renewal fees have been waived for retailer's licenses designated "1A" expiring after July 1, 2022, and prior to or on June 30, 2023. You are still required to address any license holds and include all necessary attachments prior to renewing your license but no renewal payment will be required.



3

Retailer to Retailer Transfer FAQs

LEGAL

(Disclaimer: The information provided herein is intended to be a guide to the basics of retail-to-retail transfers. Such information is not intended to be a substitute for statutes or rules and does not include all transfer requirements. Please consult the Illinois Liquor Control Act, Illinois Liquor Control Commission Rules, and/or Illinois Liquor Control Commission transfer forms for additional requirements)

Q: May a retailer sell, purchase, transfer, or receive a transfer of alcoholic liquor products from another retailer?

A: No. Unless the Illinois Liquor Control Commission preapproves a written application to transfer alcoholic liquor to another location or the retailer otherwise complies with Section 100.250 of the Illinois Administrative Code (XFER 100). If a retailer is found to have transferred malt beverage or seltzer products to another retailer without the prior approval of the Commission, the retail license shall be subject to a warning, fine, suspension or revocation.

Q: How do the Act and Rules expressly authorize the transfer of alcoholic liquor from one retailer to another retailer?

A: In some limited circumstances, the Act and Rules authorize a retailer to complete or file an Illinois Liquor Control Commission transfer form (See 235 ILCS 5/6-37.5, 235 ILCS 5/6-38; 11 Ill. Admin. Code 100.250). Transfer forms may be found on the Commission website under "Forms/Applications" and "Other General Forms."

Q: What types of retailer-to-retailer transfer forms are there?

- A: 1. One Time Transfer ("XFER 100")
 - 2. Percentage Based Transfer ("XFER 101")
 - 3. Common Ownership (non-percentage based) Transfer ("XFER 102")

Q: When do I complete the One Time Transfer ("XFER 100)?

A: Anytime a retailer seeks prior approval of a transfer that is not a wine and spirits only "percentage based transfer" or a wine and spirits only transfer between common owners. The most common form of One-Time-Transfer approvals are for business closure transfers to another store and transfers as a result of a disaster or Act of God. This form must be submitted and approved by the Commission prior to the transfer.

Q: When do I complete a Percentage Based Transfer form ("XFER 101")?

A: Wine and spirits only – When one retail licensee transfers wine and spirits products to another commonly owned retail licensee based on a monthly percentage of wine and spirits wholesale purchases.

Q: What are some of the conditions of a Percentage Based Transfer?

- A: 1. Transfer may be only from an On-Premises Only Retailer to an On-Premises Only Retailer OR from an Off-Premises Only Retailer to an Off-Premises Only Retailer.
 - For On-Premises Only retailer transfers, the transfer amount is limited to 5% of the average monthly purchases of the On-Premises Only transferring retailer (For Off-Premises Only retailer transfers, 3% of average monthly purchases).
 - 3. Average Monthly Purchases = 12-month rolling average of the total volume purchased over the 12 most recent months previous to the month in which the transfer is made and dividing that total by 12.

Q: When do I complete a non-percentage based Common Ownership Transfer form ("XFER 102")?

A: Wine and spirits only – When one retail licensee transfers wine and spirits products to another retail licensee based on the shared ownership of greater than 5% between more than one retailer and other various factors (identified on the form).

Q: Which forms do NOT need to be pre-approved by the Commission?

A: Percentage Based Transfers (XFER 101) and Common Ownership Transfers (XFER 102).

Q: Does a retailer have to notify distributor of a retail-to-retail transfer?

A: Yes, for a XFER 101. For this transfer, retailers may only transfer wine and spirits within one distribution territory.

Retailer to Retailer Transfer FAQs (continued)



 Q: If a retailer involved in a transfer has been placed on the wine and spirits delinquency list, may it conduct a retailer-to-retailer transfer?
A: No.

- Q: What is the difference between Common Ownership and a Wholly Owned establishment?
- A: Common Ownership signifies at least one person of two retailers exceeds 5% ownership of both entities. This is required for XFER101 & XFER102. Wholly Owned signifies the two establishments share ownership completely. This is required for manufacturer-based transfers authorized by other transfer forms (XFER103, XFER104, & XFER105).

Q: Which transfer forms require an inventory and what information needs to be included?

A: XFER100, XFER101, and XFER102 require an inventory alongside the request form. The inventory should include: the product brand name(s), container sizes, and number of containers.

Q: My license hasn't been issued. May I still complete a transfer?

A: No, both the originator and recipient locations must be up to date and completely licensed with the State of Illinois. (Exception: A XFER100 may be filed with a new application when a new applicant has completed an asset purchase of alcoholic liquor from the prior retailer licensee at the same location).

Q: How long do I need to retain records for a previously completed transfer?

A: All licensees involved in the transfer will need to retain the form and its supporting documents for a period of 90 days on the licensed premises and for 3 years overall after the transfer date.

Q: What if the transfer occurred prior to receiving approval of a One-Time-Transfer?

A: The Commission Enforcement Division will open an investigation and you may receive a warning fine, suspension, or revocation. Please allow up to 3 days for transfers to be processed.

Q: What are my tax obligations after completing a transfer?

A: For more information on this, please contact the Illinois Department of Revenue at (800) 732-8866 or (217) 782-3336. Representatives are available Monday through Friday, 8am - 5pm.

Q: I ran out of product at my retail location. Can I purchase product from an out-of-state retailer or any other out-of-state business for resale in Illinois?

A: No. Any retailer who knowingly causes alcoholic liquors to be imported directly into the State of Illinois from outside of the State for purpose of furnishing, giving, or selling, except having received the product from a duly licensed distributor or importing distributor, shall have its license suspended for 30 days for the first offense and for the second offense, shall have its licensed revoked by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission.

Q: May a retailer sell, purchase, transfer, or receive a transfer of malt beverage or malt-based seltzer products from another retailer?

A: No. Unless the Illinois Liquor Control Commission preapproves a written application to transfer alcoholic liquor to another location or the retailer otherwise complies with Section 100.250 of the Illinois Administrative Code (XFER 100). If a retailer is found to have transferred malt beverage or seltzer products to another retailer without the prior approval of the Commission, the retail license shall be subject to a warning, fine, suspension or revocation.

5

ENFORCEMENT

Infused Product Awareness

Summer is in full effect, and what better way to cool off then with a nice frozen treat. With the kids out of school and summer vacation in full swing, the ILCC would like to bring awareness to the popularity of the alcohol infused freeze pops that are on the market. As parents, telling your child they can have a freeze pop has never come with hesitation until now. If you are purchasing these alcohol infused frozen treats, be careful on how they are being stored. The average infused freeze pop can contain anywhere from 5-8% of alcohol which can be harmful to minors, especially with brain development. We want everyone to enjoy the summer and stay safe.



Social Wellness

We live in a fast-paced world, and it is easy to forget to care for ourselves like we care for others. No matter what age, we can all benefit from practicing Social Wellness. What is social wellness? Social wellness refers to the relationships we have and how we interact with others. Our relationships can offer support during difficult times. Social wellness involves building healthy, nurturing, and supportive relationships as well as fostering a genuine connection with those around you.



Here are a few tips on ways to practice Social Wellness in your life.

- Reflect on yourself and your social needs.
- Check on friends, family and mentors. Especially If they cross your mind.
- Practice active listening and write in a journal to reflect on your day.
- Join a club, or organization.
- Get active, whether it's joining a rec team or taking nature walks.
- Volunteer in the community or with organizations that feed your soul.

Retail Purchasing Misconceptions

The recent change to 235 ILCS 5/6-17.5 has caused a great deal of confusion among Illinois licensees. Be it rumor or intentionally misleading advice, retailers have reported a lot of misinformation in the marketplace.

- Rumor: "Buying my alcohol from another retailer is now legal."
 - Truth: It is still illegal for a retailer to purchase alcohol from another retailer.
- Rumor: "I can buy from another retailer as long as it's only a couple bottles."
- Truth: No matter the amount, purchases by a retailer from another retailer are still illegal.

Any purchases of alcohol by a retailer from another retailer will result in a violation issued by the Special agent conducting your inspection. However, for purchases of wine or spirits, the first two violations in a 12-month period will result in a warning being issued by the Legal Division. Retail purchases of beer or any purchase while delinquent with a distributor will result in a violation.

It's important to note that even though a violation may result in a warning for the first or second time, this may trigger a follow-up inspection to confirm compliance. As always, the goal of the Enforcement Department is to maintain order in the marketplace and compliance with the statutes and administrative rules of Illinois. If you are ever unsure about a rule or statute, please do not hesitate to contact us at LCC.Enforcement@Illinois.gov.

Annual Liquor Licensee Meeting



ILCC Director Attends "White Sox" Annual Liquor Licensee Meeting

Illinois Liquor Control Commission Executive Director Lisa Gardner and ILCC staff members participated in the Chicago Police Departments 9TH district "White Sox" Annual Liquor Licensees meeting, organized by CPD's Business Liaison Officer Carlos Adana. This annual meeting provides an opportunity for all liquor licensees within the area of Guaranteed Rate Field to discuss all matters of mutual concern with the goal of a safe and successful 2022 baseball season.

Left to right: Business Liaison Officer Carlos Aldana, Officer (Ret.) Gino Herrera, ILCC Executive Director Lisa Gardner, Sergeant John Verta

BASSET

Waukegan Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association







AAIM for the Community Event

Going to serve or tend bar; Think Again!

As the demand for more workers in the hospitality industry increases, new and younger workers will be drawn to work as a bartender or server of alcohol.

Depending on one's skill and professionalism, bartending or serving generate good income make a good living. College students have worked as bartenders or servers to pay for school tuition and expenses. However, selling and serving alcohol it is not simple or a glamorous job as perceived.

Alcohol is the most misused and abused legal drug, creating legal, social, and deadly consequences. The high risk of liability transfers responsibility to servers and bartenders to exercise reasonable care and not over service customers. They must attain skills to be observant and communicate with impaired customers. Negligence and failure to exercise reasonable care can be costly to the patron, the owner of the business, and the server or bartender.

If a server or bartender negligence not serving responsibly, an alcohol-related incident or death, can get them fired, or serve possible jail time in a third-party lawsuit. That is why they must gain and apply the taught in Beverage alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET).

A prudent server or bartender will be aware of their surroundings, their customers, their physical state of either being intoxicated, or experiencing other types of impairment. Other forms of impairment include fatigue, irritability, or side effects of other drugs. They should be aware that these other forms of impairment which can influence or speed up the rate of intoxication.

A seller or server of alcohol must be able to multi-task. Observing customer behavior, checking identification, and taking cash are tasks that must be performed while giving good customer service.

Good communication skills, an outgoing personality, and conflict management skills are essential to assist customers to make sound decisions with their alcohol consumption, and when dealing with intoxicated and unruly patrons.

If a server or bartender are new to the business, here are some factors to ponder when seeking employment or currently employed at a liquor serving establishment:

- Develop the temperament and personality to deal effectively with the public.
- Possess confidence and boldness to confront a patron and discontinue alcohol service.
- An observant person of surroundings and behavior.
- Organized and able to multi-task.

There is more to it than just serving drinks, you must think about the aspect of the safety and success of the profession working in the hospitality industry.



Community News and Events



General Information

The 2022 Illinois State Fair runs from August 11th through August 21st. The Fairgrounds are open from 7 a.m. to Midnight for the duration of the Fair. The Fair Administration Office is open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. during the fair.

Musical Guests

*Concert cost may vary

- 8/12 Sam Hunt
- 8/13 Demi Lovato w/Iyla
- 8/14 Brooks & Dunn w/Kendell Marvel
- 8/15 Ides of March Feat. Jim Peterik
- 8/16 Willie Nelson & Family w/ Elle King
- 8/17 Shaggy & TLC
- 8/18 Jon Pardi w/Lainey Wilson & Chapel Hart
- 8/19 Trevor Noah
- 8/20 Disturbed w/Nita Strauss
- 8/21 Sammy Hager & The Circle w/ Ann Wilson of Heart



Scan for State Fair Website

Daily Admission Rates:

Children (0-12)	FREE
Adults (13-59)	\$10 (Fridays & Saturdays)
Adults (13-59)	\$5 (All other days)
Seniors (60+)	\$3

Parking Rates:

Daily	\$5
Seasonal	\$40 (Gate 6, Lot 18 infield)

FREE Admission Days:

Sunday, August 14 (Veterans & immediate families free with proper ID)

Monday, August 15 (Seniors & Scouts (with proper ID or uniform) FREE)

Friday, August 19 (First Responders with proper ID)

Discount Admission Booklets:

Admission booklet \$45.00 (eleven (11) any day 2022 adult admissions)!

Senior Admission booklet \$30.00 (ten (10) any day 2022 senior admissions)

Prices Subject to change