

50 W. WASHINGTON ST., SUITE 209 CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60602 TELEPHONE: 312 814-2206 LCC.LICENSING@ILLINOIS.GOV 300 W. JEFFERSON ST., SUITE 300 SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62702 TELEPHONE: 217 782-2136 WEBSITE: ILCC.Illinois.gov

# APPLICATION FOR STATE OF ILLINOIS WINERY SHIPPER'S LICENSE ("DIRECT SHIPPING PERMIT")

Email completed application, supporting documents, and a copy of payment to <u>LCC.Licensing@illinois.gov</u>

# Payments shall be made by check or money order through the mail within 3-7 business days to either office location.

**DEFINITION:** A Winery Shipper's License allows a person with 1) a first-class or second-class wine manufacturer's license; 2) a first-class or second-class wine-maker's license; or 3) a limited wine manfacuturer's license or who is licensed to make wine under the laws of another state, to ship wine made by that licensee directly to a resident of Illinois, who is 21 years of age or older, for that resident's personal use and not for resale.

The following are considered categories of winery shipper's licenses. **Please check ONE of the categories listed below AND on page 2** that applies to the type/class of license for which application is being made. Be sure to obtain and complete all of the required supporting documents for the particular license class.

#### A. WINERY SHIPPER'S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS WINE MANUFACTURERS FEE: See Below

Both a "first-class wine manufacturer" and a "second-class wine manufacturer" who obtains a Winery Shipper's License can directly sell to Illinois residents (*e.g.*, anyone in the general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year.

A first-class wine manufacturer who produces less than 25,000 gallons per year may apply for a self-distribution exemption (see attached) allowing for the sale of not more than 5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees per year.

Please note: A second-class wine manufacturer likely produces more than 25,000 gallons of wine per year and therefore **WILL NOT QUALIFY** for a self-distribution exemption.

#### The documents listed below MUST be attached for a Winery Shipper's License for Illinois Wine Manufacturers:

- 1) Copy of your current State of Illinois Manufacturer's Liquor License;
- 2) Copy of all federal label approval(s) for any product being directly shipped to Illinois residents (**Note:** All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application); and
- 3) Copy of your Federal Basic Permit
- 4) Department of Revenue Financial Bond (REG 4-A or REG 4-D)

Winery Shipper's License Fees for Wine Manufacturer	'S:
□ FIRST CLASS Wine Manufacturer:	\$350.00
FEES FOR SECOND CLASS Wine Manufacturers:	
□ Class 1 (not to exceed 250,000 gallons manufactured and	nually): \$350.00
□ Class 2 (not to exceed 500,000 gallons manufactured an	nually): \$1,000.00
□ Class 3 (over 500,000 gallons manufactured annually)	: \$1,500.00

#### B. WINERY SHIPPER'S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS WINE MAKERS

FEE: See Below

A "first-class wine maker" or a "second-class wine maker" who obtains a Winery Shipper's License can sell directly to Illinois residents (*e.g.,* anyone in the general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year.

A First-Class Wine Maker's License shall allow the manufacture of up to 50,000 gallons of wine per year, and the storage and sale of such wine to distributors in Illinois, and to persons outside Illinois, as may be permitted by law. A first-class wine maker who produces less than 25,000 gallons per year may apply for a self-distribution exemption (see attached) allowing for the sale of not more than 5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees per year.

**Please note**: a second-class wine maker likely produces more than 25,000 gallons of wine per year and therefore **WILL NOT QUALIFY** for a self-distribution exemption.

#### The documents listed below must be attached for a Winery Shipper's License for Illinois Wine Makers:

- 1) Copy of your current State of Illinois Manufacturer's Liquor License;
- 2) Copy of all federal label approval(s) for any product being directly shipped to Illinois residents (**Note:** All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application); and
- 3) Copy of your Federal Basic Permit
- 4) Department of Revenue Financial Bond (REG 4-A or REG 4-D)

Winery Shipper's License Fees for Wine Makers:	\$350.00
FEES FOR SECOND CLASS Wine Maker:	
□ Class 1 (not to exceed 250,000 gallons manufactured annually):	\$350.00
□ Class 2 (not to exceed 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):	\$1,000.00
□ Class 3 (over 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):	\$1,500.00

C. 🔲 WINERY SHIPPER'S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS LIMITED WINE MANUFACTURER

FEE: \$350.00

**FEE: See Fees Below** 

A limited wine manufacturer who obtains a Winery Shipper's License can sell directly to Illinois residents (e.g., anyone in the general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year. A limited wine-manufacturer may make sales and deliveries, not to exceed 40,000 gallons of wine per year, to distributors and to non-licensees in accordance with the Illinois Liquor Control Act. A limited wine manufacturer who produces less than 25,000 gallons per year may apply for a self-distribution exemption (see attached) allowing for the sale of not more than 5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees per year.

#### The documents listed below must be attached for a Winery Shipper's License for Illinois Limited Wine Manufacturers:

- 1) Copy of your current State of Illinois Manufacturer's Liquor License;
- Copy of all federal label approval(s) for any product being directly shipped to Illinois residents (Note: All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application); and
- 3) Copy of your Federal Basic Permit
- 4) Department of Revenue Financial Bond (REG 4-A or REG 4-D)

#### D. OUT-OF-STATE WINERY SHIPPER'S LICENSE

An Out-of-State Winery Shipper's License shall allow a person who is licensed to make wine under the laws of another state to sell directly to Illinois residents (*e.g.*, anyone in the general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year. This wine must be for personal use and not for resale. An out-of-state winery must provide the Commission with a copy of its current license in the state in which it is licensed as a manufacturer. An out-of-state winery who produces less than 25,000 gallons per year may apply for a self-distribution exemption (see attached) allowing for the sale of not more than 5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees per year.

#### The documents listed below must be attached for a Winery Shipper's License for Illinois Limited Wine Manufacturers:

- 1) Copy of your current state **Manufacturer's Liquor License**;
- 2) Copy of all federal label approval(s) for any product being directly shipped to Illinois residents (**Note:** All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application); and
- 3) Copy of your Federal Basic Permit
- 4) Department of Revenue Financial Bond (REG 4-A or REG 4-D)

	Winery Shipper's License Fees for Out-of-State Wine Manufact	urers:
	□ CLASS 1 (not to exceed 250,000 gallons manufactured annually	\$350.00
	CLASS 1 (WITH Self Distribution Exemption):	\$1,500.00
	CLASS 2 (not to exceed 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):	\$1,000.00
2)	CLASS 3 (over 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):	\$1,500.00

LICENSE NO.

DATE ISSUED

EXPIRATION DATE

#### COUNTER

# **Application for State of Illinois Winery Shipper's Liquor License**

#### 1. APPLICANT - CORPORATE INFORMATION

#### A. FEIN

Enter your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) in this box. The FEIN is a ninedigit number issued by the Internal Revenue Service. This number is used for verification purposes only. If you do not have a FEIN, call 1 800 829-3676 for information on how to apply and obtain the forms you need. **NOTE**: The ILCC will accept your application as long as you have filed an application for your FEIN.

#### B. ILLINOIS SALES TAX ACCOUNT ID

Enter the eight-digit Illinois Department of Revenue Sales Tax Account ID. **YOU MUST HAVE THIS NUMBER IN ORDER FOR A LICENSE TO BE ISSUED.** If you need to obtain this number, visit **tax.illinois.gov** and click on "Businesses" then "How do I Register?" under the Business Registration section. If you have any questions, call 217 785-3707.

#### C. TELEPHONE

Enter the area code, telephone number and extension of the sole proprietorship, corporation, etc.

AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO.	
( )	EXT.

#### E. NAME

Enter the name of the sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation (Illinois, national, or foreign), or limited liability company in this box. Note: This name must be the same as the name printed on your local liquor license and your Sales Tax Registration Certificate, issued by the Illinois Department of Revenue.

NAME		

#### F. BUSINESS ADDRESS/MAILING ADDRESS

**F1** - Enter the street address, city, state, and ZIP code of the sole proprietorship, corporation, etc.

F2 - Enter the mailing address, including street address, city, state, and ZIP code, if different from the business address on Line F1.

	ADDRESS	CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE
F1				
F2				

#### G. CONTACT INFORMATION

Provide the contact information for your business. The contact person should be the responsible party we can contact and who can answer questions on behalf of the business. The mobile or alternate number should be in addition to any business numbers on file. The email address should be the active email address for the business, not the personal email address of the contact person.

CONTACT PERSON'S NAME (First, Last)	BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER	ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER (Home, Cell, etc.)		
	( )	( )		
EMAIL ADDRESS		FAX NUMBER		
		( )		

ILLINOIS SALES TAX ACCOUNT ID

FEIN #

D. COUNTY

Enter the county where the sole proprietorship, corporation, etc., is located.

COUNTY		

## 2. STATUS OF BUSINESS

Check the applicable box (sole proprietorship, partnership, Illinois corporation, foreign corporation, limited liability company) which corresponds to your business' official papers filed with the Office of the Illinois Secretary of State.

Based on the box that you check, provide the date of the filing of the sole proprietorship with the county clerk; in the case of a partnership, the date of formation of the partnership; in the case of an Illinois corporation, the date of its incorporation; in the case of a foreign corporation, the foreign state where it was incorporated and the date, as well as the date of its becoming qualified under the "Business Corporation Act of 1983" to transact business in the State of Illinois; or in the case of a limited liability company, the date of formation of such entity.

A. 🔲 Sole Proprietorship	Date Files with County Clerk:
B. D Partnership	Date of Formation:
C. Illinois Corporation	Date of Incorporation:
D. D Foreign Corporation	State of Incorporation: Date Qualified To Do Business in IL:
E. 🔲 Limited Liability Company	Date Formed:

#### 3. OWNERSHIP INFORMATION

Provide the owner/officer/partner information in accordance with the business status described under Question 2. This information must be submitted for all owners/officers/partners. The same information must be submitted for shareholders with interests equal to or exceeding five percent.

The following information must be provided for each individual applicant, sole proprietor, partner, corporate officer or director (whether or not they own any stock), shareholder owning aggregate stock equal to or more than five percent, (including officers, directors and shareholders with stock equal to or more than five percent for all corporate shareholders), and/or manager or agent conducting the business. Indicate the total percentage of stock of the corporation, if any, which is held by persons who hold less than a five percent interest. If additional space is needed, provide information on a separate sheet(s) in the same format as this application. **Before completing this section, check the questions in Section 6 - Eligibility.** 

For each owner/officer/partner/five percent shareholder, provide full name, home address, city, state, ZIP code, Social Security number, date of birth, sex, title/position, home telephone number, and ownership percentage. Total ownership percentage should equal 100 percent. If there are a number of shareholders owning less than five percent, indicate the aggregate total of ownership under Line E.

Α.	NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INIT	ΓIAL)		HOME ADDRESS	CITY	STATE	ZIP
	SOCIAL SECURITY NO.	DATE OF BIRTH	SEX	TITLE/POSITION	AREA CODE/HOME TELEPH	IONE NO.	% OWNED
					( )		
_				-			
В.	NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL)			HOME ADDRESS	CITY	STATE	ZIP
	SOCIAL SECURITY NO.	DATE OF BIRTH	SEX	TITLE/POSITION	AREA CODE/HOME TELEPH	HONE NO.	% OWNED
					( )		
-							
C.	NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INIT	ΓIAL)		HOME ADDRESS	CITY	STATE	ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO.	DATE OF BIRTH	SEX	TITLE/POSITION	AREA C	ODE/HOME TELEPH	IONE NO.	% OWNED
				(	)		

D.	NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INIT	ſIAL)		HOME ADDRESS	CITY	STATE	ZIP
	SOCIAL SECURITY NO.	DATE OF BIRTH	SEX	TITLE/POSITION	AREA CODE/HOME TELEPH	IONE NO.	% OWNED
					( )		

E. Total percentage of all stock held by all persons with less than five percent interest.

%

## 4. THIRD PARTY PROVIDER INFORMATION

Any application for a wine shipper's license shall include the name and address of the third party, except for a common carrier, authorized to ship wine on behalf of a manufacturer.

a. Wine Manufacturer acknowledges it is in com	pliance with Section 6-2 of this Act.
b. Please disclose any third party, except a com	mon carrier, authorized to ship wine on your behalf.
NAME	ADDRESS
c. Please provide a copy of the written appoin authorized to ship wine on your behalf.	intment of the third party, except a common carrier,
d. The undersigned affirms, under penalty of per through the appointed third-party provider.	rjury, that your company only ships wine directly or indirectly
e. The undersigned acknowledges that the comp State and the State Commission.	pany's third party provider will consent to the jurisdiction of the
	uary 1st of each calendar year your company will require Commission a statement detailing each shipment made to an
	ations made herein are true and correct and, if the representations re the authority to revoke all licenses held by the affiant and all ns.

PRINT FULL NAME OF APPLICANT	SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT	DATE

#### 5. ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE TAX REQUIREMENTS

Once your State of Illinois Winery Shipper's License is issued, the Illinois Department of Revenue will mail you Form IL-26-W, Liquor Direct Wine Shipper Return. Once you receive this form, you will have the option of filing this tax return and paying the tax due online through MyTax Illinois at **tax.illinois.gov** (this option is free-of-charge) OR by mail. If you have tax-related questions, please call 217 782-6045.

## 6. ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONS

These questions apply to the applicant and any other person listed under Section 3. These questions **MUST** be answered. IF THE QUESTIONS ARE NOT CHECKED, THE APPLICATION WILL BE REJECTED. If any question is checked "yes," a written, detailed explanation is required and must be attached to this application.

		-		
4-1	YES		NO	HAVE YOU FAILED OR NEGLECTED TO REGISTER WITH THE FEDERAL TAX & TRADE BUREAU (TTB)? IF SO, PLEASE CONTACT THE TTB AT 1 800 937-8864 OR 513 684 2979.
4-2	YES		NO	HAVE YOU FAILED OR NEGLECTED TO REGISTER WITH THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION ALL BRANDS/PRODUCTS MADE OR DIRECTLY SHIPPED INTO ILLINOIS?
4-3	YES		NO	DO YOU PRODUCE MORE THAN 25,000 GALLONS OF WINE PER YEAR? (no written explanation necessary)
4-4	YES		NO	HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A VIOLATION OF ANY FEDERAL OR STATE LAW CONCERNING THE MANUFACTURE, POSSESSION, OR SALE OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR, SUBSEQUENT TO THE PASSAGE OF THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL ACT OR HAVE YOU FORFEITED YOUR BOND TO APPEAR IN COURT TO ANSWER CHARGES FOR ANY SUCH VIOLATION?
4-5	YES		NO	ARE YOU DELINQUENT IN THE PAYMENT OF ANY ILLINOIS BUSINESS TAXES (SALES, WITHHOLDING, ETC.)?
4-6	YES		NO	HAVE YOU EVER BEEN DENIED QUALIFICATION UNDER THE BUSINESS CORPORATION ACT OF 1983 TO TRANSACT BUSINESS IN ILLINOIS?
4-7	YES		NO	HAVE YOU EVER APPLIED FOR AND BEEN DENIED A LIQUOR LICENSE?
4-8	YES		NO	HAVE YOU HAD ANY PREVIOUS LIQUOR LICENSE REVOKED?
4-9	YES		NO	HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A FELONY?
4-10	YES		NO	HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A GAMBLING OFFENSE AS DEFINED UNDER SECTION 5/6-2 OF THE ACT WHICH INCLUDES OFFENSES ENUMERATED IN 720 ILCS 5/28-1(a)1-11, "GAMBLING;" 720 ILCS 5/28-1.1(a)-(d) "SYNDICATED GAMBLING;" AND 720 ILCS 5/28-3 "KEEPING A GAMBLING PLACE"?
4-11	YES		NO	ARE YOU, OR ANY OTHER PERSON WITH A DIRECT INTEREST IN YOUR PLACE OF BUSINESS, A PUBLIC OF- FICIAL OR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICIAL IN THE SAME JURISDICTION AS THE LICENSE?
4-12	YES		NO	HAVE YOU RECEIVED OR BORROWED MONEY OR ANYTHING OF VALUE DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY FROM ANY OTHER LICENSEES, REPRESENTATIVES OF A LICENSEE, OR SUPPLIERS OF ALCOHOLIC PRODUCTS?
4-13	YES		NO	IF OPERATING AS A SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP OR A PARTNERSHIP, ARE YOU OR YOUR PARTNER(S) CURRENTLY NOT CITIZENS OF THE UNITED STATES OR RESIDENT ALIENS WITH LEGAL STATUS?
4-14	YES		NO	ARE YOU THE ACTUAL MANUFACTURER OF THE PRODUCT(S) DESCRIBED HEREIN?

#### 7. SIGNATURE/TITLE/DATE

Please sign and date the application form and provide your title with the organization. The application must be signed by an owner, an officer, a partner or an officially authorized agent of the business. The signature must be an original; rubber stamps are not accepted.

I, THE UNDERSIGNED APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED AGENT THEREOF, SWEAR OR AFFIRM THAT: THE MATTERS STATED IN THE FOREGOING APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT; THEY ARE MADE UPON MY PERSONAL KNOWLEDGE AND INFORMATION; THEY ARE MADE FOR THE PURPOSE OF REQUESTING THE STATE OF ILLINOIS TO ISSUE THE LICENSE HEREIN APPLIED FOR; THE APPLICANT IS QUALIFIED AND ELIGIBLE TO OBTAIN THE LICENSE APPLIED FOR; AND THE APPLICANT WILL NOT VIOLATE ANY OF THE LAWS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA OR THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, IN PARTICULAR, THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROLACT, RULES AND REGULATIONS, AND THE CIVIL RIGHTS SECTIONS THEREOF.

FURTHER, I AGREE TO NOTIFY THIS COMMISSION WITHIN 30 WORKING DAYS OF CHANGES IN ANY OF THE ABOVE INFORMATION. (NOTE: IF THE PERSON SIGNING THIS APPLICATION IS NOT LISTED IN SECTION 3, THEY MUST PROVIDE THE STATE WITH THEIR PERSONAL INFORMATION AS INDICATED IN SECTION 3 EVEN IF THEY DO NOT OWN FIVE PERCENT OR MORE OF THE BUSINESS.)

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT/AUTHORIZED AGENT

# **Registration Statement**

(Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 235)

#### TO THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION:

Pursuant to the requirement of Section 6-9 of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934, 235 ILCS 5/1-1, et.seq., the undersigned, a

(Insert -- Manufacturer, Distributor, Importing Distributor, or Non-resident Dealer)

does hereby register with said Commission the following named persons or companies as being the only ones to whom the undersigned has granted the right to sell or distribute at wholesale within the State of Illinois, one or more of those alcoholic liquors which bear trademarks, brands or names owned or controlled by the undersigned. The undersigned does hereby further register opposite the name of said persons or companies, the respective trademarks, brands or names, owned or controlled by the undersigned, concerning which said persons have been given such distributing rights and the respective geographical territories for which such distributing rights have been given to said persons or companies, and the period of time for which such rights are granted to such person.

NAME, ADDRESS, CITY, STATE AND ZIP CODE OF WHOLESALER		RK BRAND, OR OF ITEM	GEOGRAPHICAL TERRITORY	TIME PERIOD
	С	ORPORATE NAME:		
IMPORTANT NOTICE		DDRESS:		
This state agency is requesting disclosure of information that is necessary to accomplish the statutory purport	ose		(Street Number)	
as outlined under the Illinois Liquor Control Act 1934, 235 ILSC 5/6-9. Disclosure of this informatio	t of n is		(City or Town)	
MANDATORY.		IGNATURE:	(Authorized Person)	
Failure to provide any information will result nonissuance of your license and/or nonregistration	n of S	IGNED BY:	(Title)	
your products.				
IL 567-0014 (1/2019)	S	TATE LICENSE #	EXP. DAT	ſE



JB Pritzker Governor

50 W. WASHINGTON ST., SUITE 209 CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60602 TELEPHONE: 312 814-2206 TDD: 312 814-1844 300 W. JEFFERSON ST., SUITE 300 SPRINGFIELD, ILLINOIS 62702 TELEPHONE: 217 782-2136 WEBSITE: ILCC.Ilinois.gov

# SELF-DISTRIBUTION EXEMPTION (FOR IN-STATE AND OUT-OF-STATE WINERIES)

APPLICANT'S NAME (Individual or Corporation))			FEIN #
BUSINESS NAME (DBA)			BUSINESS PHONE
			( )
BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS			
CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE	ILLINOIS LIQUOR LICENSE # (IF APPLICABLE)

I do hereby agree, if asked, that I will provide the following information to the Illinois Liquor Control Commission:

- a) Date business was established;
- b) Volume of production of sales for each year since business was established;
- c) Explanation of our efforts to establish distributor relationships; and
- d) Explanation for the need to obtain a self-distribution exemption to facilitate the marketing of wine.

I do hereby swear or affirm that I will comply with the liquor and revenue laws of the United States, Illinois, and any other state where I am licensed; I am not a member of any affiliated group that produces more than 930,000 gallons of beer, or 50,000 gallons of spirits per year, or 25,000 gallons of wine, I did not produce in aggregate more than 930,000 gallons of beer or 50,000 gallons of spirits or 25,000 gallons of wine, during the past 12 months; and will not annually produce more than 930,000 gallons of beer, or 50,000 gallons of spirits or 25,000 gallons of wine per year and will not annually sell more than 232,500 gallons of beer, or 5,000 gallons of spirits, or 5,000 gallons of wine to retail licenses.

PRINT FULL NAME OF APPLICANT	SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT	DATE

## Who must submit a bond?

Form REG-4-A, Financial Responsibility Bond, or Form REG-4-D, Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit Bond, is required to complete your registration to be licensed as a

•

- cigarette distributor •
- tobacco products distributor motor fuel distributor
- cigarette machine operator ٠
- liquor distributor ٠ direct wine shipper
- motor fuel supplier motor fuel receiver
- liquor airline

Note: International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) carriers may be required to obtain a bond.

You must complete either Form REG-4-A or Form REG-4-D to obtain a bond. You will not be issued a certificate of registration and cannot be legally registered to do business in Illinois until we receive your bond.

## How do I obtain a bond using Form REG-4-A?

You must provide Form REG-4-A to the insurance company that will be providing your bond. A separate bond is required for each location.

## What is required for Form REG-4-A?

All signatures and seals must be original. We will not accept copies. faxes, etc., as proof of bond coverage. Duplicate originals must be marked as such and must meet the same requirements as the original bond form. You must attach a power of attorney stating the attorney-in-fact's name.

If any of the above requirements are not met, we will not accept the bond and it will be returned for correction.

#### Where do I send my Form REG-4-A?

Mail your completed Form REG-4-A with any required attachments to us at

	$\cap$	
	$\square$	

#### **CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION 3-222** ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19039 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9039

If you have questions regarding Form REG-4-A, visit our website at tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at 217 558-7425.

# **Specific Instructions**

#### Part 1: Financial responsibility bond type and number

Line a, Bond type - The bond type must match the tax type for which the bond is being issued.

Line b. Financial responsibility bond number - This number is assigned by the surety company and must be present on the bond.

#### Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information

Taxpayer's name and address - The name and address must be identical to the information that you have registered with us. The address must be the physical location of your business; mailing addresses, PO Boxes, and other addresses are not acceptable.

Name and address of surety - The name and address of the surety company executing the bond must be present.

Bond amount - The amount of bond coverage must be entered on this line.

Notification of cancellation - The surety company may conditionally cancel the bond by filing a written notice with IDOR by registered or certified mail within 90 days.

#### Part 3: Financial responsibility bond signatures and seal requirements

Signed and sealed date - The date the bond was signed by the surety company and their seal was affixed to the bond form.

Effective date - This is the date the bond coverage will begin.

Surety seal - The corporate seal of the surety company must be affixed to the bond form.

Principal's signatures - The organization type of your business determines the signature requirements. If your company is a

Corporation - Two signatures are required. The president and corporate secretary must both sign the bond. If no individual is identified as the corporate secretary, another officer of the company may sign the bond.

Partnership - Two signatures are required. Two partners must both sign the bond.

Proprietorship - One signature is required. The sole proprietor must sign the bond.

Limited Liability Company (LLC) filing as a corporation, partnership, or single member - One signature is required. Any manager or member of the LLC may sign the bond.

Surety signature - A surety company attorney-in-fact must sign and print his or her name. The name of the individual who signs for the surety company must appear on the required power of attorney attached to the bond.

Countersignature - A countersignature is only required if an independent insurance company is writing the bond agreement on behalf of the surety company. Provide the name and address of the independent agent.

Power of attorney - An original power of attorney must accompany the bond.

# Illinois Department of Revenue **REG-4-A** Financial Responsibility Bond

#### Part 1: Financial responsibility bond type and number

- a Bond type: \_
- **b** Financial responsibility bond number: \_\_\_\_

#### Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information

۱	٨	L	~
1	/ \		e

Taxpayer's name and address

and

Name and address of surety

are bound to the people of the State of Illinois in the penal sum of \$\_\_\_\_\_. We hereby bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns to the payment of this amount.

The condition of this bond is that if the principal (taxpayer) identified above, who has applied for the tax responsibility (bond type) identified above, in Part 1, pays to the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) all amounts becoming due from the principal (taxpayer) under this law, then the bond will become void; otherwise, the bond will remain in full force.

The surety identified above may conditionally cancel this bond at any time by filing a written notice with IDOR by registered or certified mail within **90** days. However, cancellation does not discharge the surety from any liability previously accrued under this bond or that may accrue before the **90** days expire.

Part 3: Financial responsibility bond signatures and s	eal requirements
We have signed and sealed this bond on/// You must attach a power of attorney.	, to be effective//

(Principal's seal)

(Surety's seal)

(as principal)

(as surety)

Principal's (taxpayer) signature	Surety company attorney-in-fact's sig	jnature	
Second principal's signature, if applicable	Attorney-in-fact's printed name		
President's or co-partner's signature	Countersigned by		
Corporate secretary's signature	Agent for surety		
	Number and street		
	City	State	ZIP
official use only			
e approved://	IDOR Director's signature		
nse number:			

#### Who must submit a bond?

Form REG-4-D, Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit Bond, or Form REG-4-A, Financial Responsibility Bond, is required to complete your registration to be licensed as a tobacco products distributor

٠

- cigarette distributor
- cigarette machine operator
- liquor distributor direct wine shipper
- motor fuel supplier motor fuel receiver •

motor fuel distributor

- liquor airline

Note: International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) carriers may be required to obtain a bond.

You must complete either Form REG-4-D or Form REG-4-A to obtain a bond. You will not be issued a certificate of registration and cannot be legally registered to do business in Illinois until we receive your bond.

## How do I obtain a bond using Form REG-4-D?

You must provide Form REG-4-D to the financial institution that will be providing your bond. A separate bond is required for each location.

## What is required for Form REG-4-D?

All signatures and seals must be original. We will not accept copies, faxes, etc., as proof of bond coverage. Duplicate originals must be marked as such and must meet the same requirements as the original bond form.

If any of the above requirements are not met, we will not accept the bond and it will be returned for correction.

## Where do I send my Form REG-4-D?

Mail your completed Form REG-4-D with any required attachments to us at

1		$\bigcap$
	<u> </u>	

#### **CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION 3-222** ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19039 SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9039

If you have guestions regarding Form REG-4-D, visit our website at tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at 217 558-7425.

# **Specific Instructions**

#### Part 1: Financial institution letter of credit bond type and number

Line a, Bond type - The bond type must match the tax type for which the bond is being issued.

Line b, Financial institution irrevocable letter of credit number -This number is assigned by the financial institution and must be present on the bond.

Line c, Bond amount - The amount of bond coverage must be entered on this line.

#### Part 2: Taxpaver and financial institution information

Taxpayer - The name and address must be identical to the information that you have registered with us. The address must be the physical location of your business; mailing addresses, PO Boxes, and other addresses are not acceptable.

Financial institution - The name and address of the financial institution executing the bond must be present.

#### Part 3: Effective and maturity date of bond

Effective date - This is the date the bond coverage will begin.

Maturity date - This is the date on which the letter of credit will mature.

#### Part 4: Bond conditions

The letter of credit must be written for a minimum of one year and be automatically renewable for successive one-year periods unless we receive written notice of cancellation 30 days prior to the maturity date.

#### Part 5: Financial institution officer information

Name, title, and signature - These lines must be completed by the financial institution officer authorizing the letter of credit.

## Part 6: Financial institution seal

Financial institution seal - An official seal must be affixed in Part 6. If the financial institution does not have an official seal, a letter, on financial institution letterhead, stating that the financial institution does not have an official seal must accompany the letter of credit.

Illinois Department of Revenue REG-4-D **Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit Bond** 

#### Part 1: Financial institution letter of credit bond type and number

- а Bond type:
- b Financial institution irrevocable letter of credit number:
- С Bond amount: \$

#### Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information **Taxpayer:**

**Financial institution:** 

Name			Name		
Street address			Street address		
City	State	ZIP	City	State	ZIP

## Part 3: Effective and maturity date of bond

Effective date: \_\_\_\_ /\_\_\_ /\_\_\_ /\_\_\_ Year

Maturity date: \_\_\_\_ /\_\_\_ /\_\_\_ /\_\_\_\_ /\_\_\_\_

#### Part 4: Bond conditions

If the taxpayer identified above, in Part 2, fails to pay the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) all moneys, including penalties and interest, due under this bond type's tax act, IDOR is authorized to draw drafts on demand against this irrevocable letter of credit. The sum of the drafts drawn against this irrevocable letter of credit cannot exceed the bond amount above, in Part 1, and drafts drawn against it are payable on demand. This letter of credit is issued for a period of one year and will be renewed automatically for successive one-year periods unless IDOR receives a written notice of cancellation 30 days prior to the maturity date.

#### Part 5: Financial institution officer information

The undersigned officer of the financial institution identified above, in Part 2, is duly authorized by the Board of Directors to execute this irrevocable letter of credit; and this financial institution will honor all drafts on demand. The name of the authorized financial institution officer, title, and signature are required.

Name: \_\_\_

Title: \_\_\_\_\_

Signature:

#### Part 6: Financial institution seal

The official seal of the financial institution must be affixed below.

For official use only

Date approved: \_\_\_\_\_ /\_\_\_ /\_\_\_\_ /\_\_\_\_

IDOR Director's signature

License number: \_\_\_

# REG-1 Illinois Department of Revenue

	gister faster using <b>MyTax Illinois</b> , our online account management p bsite at <b>tax.illinois.gov</b> or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4			
	ep 1: Identify your business or organization         Federal employer identification number (FEIN)         FEIN:	6	Check the organization type that applies to you:  Proprietorship Check if owned by a married couple or civil union Partnership Corporation* S Corp (Subchapter S Corporation)* *Is your corporation publicly traded?YesNo	
2 3			If yes, provide the ticker symbol Governmental unit IN Not-for-profit organization LLC - Corporation ILLC - Partnership LLC - S Corporation ILLC - Single member Check if your organization type is disregarded	
4	Primary or legal business address:		<ul> <li>7 Illinois Secretary of State identification number:</li> <li></li> </ul>	
	Street address - No PO Box number       Apartment or suite number         City       State       ZIP         If you have other locations in Illinois from where you do business, complete and attach Schedule REG-1-L.	8	Is your business part of a unitary group?YesNo If "Yes", provide the FEIN of your designated agent (the entity responsible for filing your Illinois income tax return): FEIN:	
5	Mailing address if different from the address above:		Identify a contact person regarding your business.	
	In-care-of name Street address or PO Box number City State ZIP		Name:      Title:         Phone:      Ext.:         FAX:       ()         Email address:	

#### Step 2: Identify your owners and officers - If you need to identify more, attach Schedule REG-1-O.

10 Identification depends on the organization type you selected in Step 1, Line 6 (proprietorship - owner(s); partnership - general partners; non-publicly traded corporation - president, secretary, and treasurer; publicly traded corporation - chief operating officer and chief financial officer; trust or estate - trustee(s) or executor(s); governmental unit - one contact person; not-for-profit organization - president, secretary, or treasurer; limited liability company - managers and members). For each individual or business required, complete the following information.

\_

Individuals: (include Social Security number (SSN))

1			α	
Name	Title		Name	Title
Home address - No PO Box number	City State	ZIP	Home address - No PO Box number	City State ZIF
/ / Date of birth	()		/ / Date of birth	() Phone
Social Security number	Ownership percentage: _		Social Security number	Ownership percentage:
<b>)</b>			Businesses: (include federal em	ployer identification number (FEIN),
Name	Title		a	
Home address - No PO Box number	City State	ZIP		FEIN
//	()		Legal address	
Date of birth	Phone		City	State ZIF
Social Security number	Ownership percentage: _		()	Ownership percentage:
Name	Title		b	
Name	nie		Name	FEIN
Home address - No PO Box number	City State	ZIP	Legal address	
/ / Date of birth	()		City	State ZIF
	Ownership percentage: _		()	Ownership percentage:
Social Security number (R-12/19)			FINIE	

#### Step 3: Tell us about your business activities

11 Describe your business activities: \_

		your service?
	Provide your North American Industry Classification System	Yes No
	(NAICS) number:	When will (did) this activity begin?//
	Refer to the website www.naics.com	<u>Purchaser (Self-assessed Use Tax)</u>
12	Will you have Illinois employees? Yes No	Does your supplier collect Illinois Sales Tax for merchandise your
	If yes, complete and attach Schedule REG-UI-1.	business uses or consumes in Illinois?
	When was (is) the date of your first payroll in Illinois?	
	/ /	YesNo
13		Does your supplier collect Illinois Sales Tax on sales of aviation
	Sales and Use Tax	fuel your business uses or consumes in Illinois?
	You must complete and attach Schedule REG-1-L to identify	YesNo
	all <b>Illinois</b> locations from which you make retail sales.	When will (did) these activities begin?//
	General merchandise: Retail Wholesale	Cigarettes and other tobacco products
	Do you estimate your monthly sales and use tax liability will	Cigarettes - See Schedule REG-1-C before you check here.
	be over \$200? Yes No	Tobacco products - See Schedule REG-1-C before you check
	Sales to Illinois customers from out of state	here.
	Check if you have an Illinois presence,	Cigarette machine operator - See Schedule REG-1-C before
	including, but not limited to having an office	you check here.
	or other facility in Illinois or having employees or	When will (did) these activities begin?//
	other representatives operating in Illinois.	Renting or leasing
	Check if you make \$100,000 or more in annual	Hotel rooms for less than 30 days - Attach Schedule REG-1-L.
	sales from your own sales to Illinois purchasers.	Do you charge for telecommunication services?
	Check if you make 200 or more separate	YesNo
	transactions annually from your own sales to	Vehicles for one year or less - Attach Schedule REG-1-L.
	Illinois purchasers.	Vehicles for more than one year
	Check if you are a marketplace facilitator - <b>Attach</b>	When will (did) these activities begin?//
	Schedule REG-1-MKP.	Utility providers
	Soft drinks (other than fountain soft drinks) in Chicago	Electricity: Retail Wholesale
	Vehicle, watercraft, aircraft, or trailers	🔲 Natural gas: Retail Wholesale
	Sales or delivery of tires. Do you <b>always</b> pay the	Telecommunications - See Schedule REG-1-T.
	Tire User Fee to your supplier? Yes No	_ Retail Wholesale
	Sales from vending machines. How many vending	Water or sewer services
	machines?	Are you a utility cooperative? Yes No
	Liquor at retail (bar, tavern, liquor store, <i>etc.</i> )	Are you a municipality? Yes No
	Motor fuel/fuel: Retail Wholesale	When will (did) these activities begin?//
	Check here if you are required to <b>collect</b> prepaid	All other tax types
	sales tax.	Liquor warehousing - Attach Schedule REG-1-A.
	Medical cannabis - Attach Schedule REG-1-MC.	Dry cleaning: Facility Solvent supplier
	Cultivation Center Dispensing Organization	Own/operate coin-operated amusement devices
	Aviation fuel: Retail Wholesale	You wish to purchase electricity for non-residential use and pay
	(if wholesale, attach Schedule REG-8-A)	the tax to IDOR - Attach Schedule REG-1-D.
	When will (did) these activities begin?//	igsquirin You wish to purchase natural gas from outside of
		Illinois for your own use and pay the tax to IDOR - Attach
		Schedule REG-1-G.
		Not listed. Identify:
		When will (did) these activities begin?//

**Services** 

Do you transfer items, on which tax must be collected, as part of

# Mail your completed form, with any required attachments and payment to:

#### CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PO BOX 19030

#### SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9030

This form is authorized as outlined under the tax or fee Act imposing the tax or fee for which this form is filed. Disclosure of this information is required. Failure to provide information may result in this form not being processed and may result in a penalty. Printed by the authority of the State of Illinois - Web only - One copy

|--|--|

REG-1 (R-12/19)